I made my first $1 on Medium in 2024: my plan for making more

Abir
3 min readApr 1, 2024
Photo by micheile henderson on Unsplash

This isn’t the first time I’ve earned money from Medium. I actually made around $5 between 2021 and 2022, before their monetization rules changed. However, for the first quarter of 2024, it’s a modest amount: a laughably small $0.60. It isn’t even enough to cover my Medium membership, but I’m still happy with this small step forward.

As Michael Lim says in his post: If I could make $1 online, what’s stopping me from making $10, $100 or even $1,000?

This perfectly captures my motivation. For now, I’ll focus on making $10.

But first, I need to overcome my biggest content creation challenge: I am not consistent !

Let’s be honest: I cannot write one post per day as many writers recommend. I have a 9–5 job, and my ADHD does not help me.

The second roadblock is reader preference. People are attracted to stories of success, perfect lives, etc. However, my writing tends to be very realistic. I focus on failures, real-life struggles, and the obstacles we encounter.

Yesterday, I watched a satirical TV series where a social media coach tried to help a character become popular. Here’s what he said: “You need to give the people a high-end dream. Make them dream and project themselves into your life.”

--

--

Abir

IT working girl. Interested in many topics such as project management, self help, tech and trading. Writes in French and English