My Etsy account is permanently suspended and I don’t know why: my disappointing journey on Etsy

Abir
5 min readAug 27, 2023

In my previous post, I’ve talked about my early days on Etsy, and how different it was from what I expected.

Today things went worse. My Etsy account is permanently suspended and I don’t even know what I did wrong for that ! Etsy did not give me any explanation and worse: they say their decision is definitive and is not subject to review !

It all started three months ago when I decided to start selling on Etsy. I followed the advice of many YouTube videos that promised easy and quick sales of products made with AI.

My journey on Etsy

The beginnings: looking for a niche

At first, I listed print on demand products with designs I had created with Midjourney. But after a few weeks, I realized it wasn’t so easy. The market was saturated and my products didn’t stand out.

So I decided to change my strategy and sell printable educational content in Arabic. I thought it would be a less saturated market and I would have a better chance of getting noticed. And I can produce something of a good quality in my native language.

I also invested in Etsy advertising to promote my products and to drive traffic to my shop.

Despite all my efforts, I couldn’t make any sales. I ended up giving up and stopped listing new items.

--

--

Abir

IT working girl. Interested in many topics such as project management, self help, tech and trading. Writes in French and English