My journey of starting 3 YouTube channels: The challenges I faced as a beginner

Abir
2 min readAug 22, 2023

--

I started three YouTube channels two months ago. In my previous post, I talked about the positive aspects of my experience so far, regardless of the metrics and the fact that I haven’t reached my view goals yet.

However, there are also some challenges that I need to work on. In this post, I will talk about these challenges.

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

Time Management and Efficiency

Managing multiple channels and making videos without showing my face or voice can be time-consuming. I need to improve my time management skills so I can create more content without feeling overwhelmed. I also need to find ways to make my workflow more efficient so I can spend less time editing and more time creating.

Mental Exhaustion and Overthinking

The demanding nature of content creation has taken a toll on my mental health. I often work late nights editing and overthinking, which has left me feeling fatigued and unable to disconnect from the online world. I have a 9–5 job that also requires a lot of focus and concentration, which makes it difficult to find time to rest and recharge. I need to find ways to manage my stress and take breaks from content creation in order to protect my mental health.

Detaching from Metrics

I know that numbers are important, but I need to stop obsessing over them. I’m still in the early stages of my journey, and I’m focusing too much on the numbers. I check my YouTube metrics first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Sometimes, I even check them several times in a few minutes, as if things will change in a matter of minutes. I need to detach myself from that and focus on creating great content. Growth takes time, and I need to be patient. If my content is meant to be successful, it will happen. Constantly checking the numbers will only waste my time.

I’ve faced some challenges in my two months of creating YouTube channels, but I’m learning and growing every day. Some of these challenges are not only related to YouTube, but to my life in general. For example, I’m working on improving my time management skills and managing my mental health. I’m also trying to detach myself from metrics, but it’s something that will take time. I’m not sure if I can overcome these challenges, but I’m going to try my best.

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

--

--

Abir

IT working girl. Interested in many topics such as project management, self help, tech and trading. Writes in French and English